2020 Award & Scholarship Recipients

Awards Ceremony Recording

In 2020, the Awards Celebration went virtual. With Brandi Young, President of OELMA as host, the Awards Celebration brought all our recipients together as they shared their pre-recorded videos. Among the highlights of the celebration was Brandi awarding Terri Fredericka the Presidential Award and a citation. 

Award Recipients

Collaborative School Library Award
Lorri Kingan
Library Media Specialist
Hudson Middle School
Hudson City School District
Jessica Klinker
Library Media Specialist
Franklin Heights High School
S. Western City School District
Dana Wright
Library Media Specialist
Jonathan Alder Local School District

Emerging Leader Award
Follett School Solutions Outstanding School Librarian
Wendy Baker Torrence
Library Media Specialist
Tippecanoe Middle School
Tipp City Exempted Village Schools
Jennifer Emsler Flaherty
Library Media Specialist
Theodore Roosevelt High School
Kent City School District

Literacy Leader Award
Outstanding Administrator Award
Cbus Libraries
Columbus, Ohio
Photo Credit: This Week Community News (Kevin Carvo)
Monica Myers
Director of Curriculum, Instruction & Assessment
Jackson Local School District
Massillon, Ohio

Presidential Award
Terri Fredericka

Terri Fredericka

Read On, Ohio! Award for Children and Teens

Nick Sayger
Tippecanoe Moddle School
Nominated By: Wendy Torrence
Malia Schneck
Ohio School for the Deaf
Nominated By: Nancy Boone

Rosen Ohio School Librarian of the Month (October 2019 - September 2020)
Oct. 2019
Jill Burket
Revere Local Schools

Nov. 2019
Ellen Allerton
Cuyahoga Falls City Schools

Dec. 2019
Ashley Aldrich
Jackson City Schools

Jan. 2020
Amy Keister
Louisville City Schools

Feb. 2020
Lisa Barnes Prince
Manchester High School

Mar. 2020
Elizabeth Slanina
St. Hillary School

Apr. 2020
Angie Jameson
Chagrin Falls Middle School

May 2020
Katina Anagnostou
Berea-Midpark Middle School

Jun. 2020
Award Suspended
For The Summer

Jul. 2020
Award Suspended
For The Summer

Aug. 2020
Award Suspended
For The Summer

Sep. 2020

Scholarship/Grant Recipients
J. Allen Oakum Scholarship
JLG Floyd Dickman Programming Grant
Ashley Henry
English Language Arts Teacher
Minford High School
Minford Local School District
Beth Meta
Library Media Specialist
Fouse & Emerson Elementary Schools
Westerville City School District

Library Leadership Ohio Scholarship

OELMA Founders Scholarship

Ashley Aldrich
Library Media Specialist
Jackson High School
Jackson City School District

Ashley Henry
English Language Arts Teacher
Minford High School
Minford Local School District