OELMA is fortunate to have many dedicated individuals who contribute their knowledge, talent, creativity, and energy toward the promotion and development of the educational library/media profession in Ohio. OELMA annually presents awards to members who reflect the excellence of the organization and the profession and shine in the spotlight as distinguished and outstanding educators.


As an OELMA member, this is your opportunity to bestow honor upon deserving colleagues. Nomination forms are available from the OELMA Office or the OELMA web page. Nomination forms must be returned to the OELMA Office by no later than 5:00 p.m. on April 15th. No Late Applications will be accepted. All awards and scholarships are presented at the Annual Conference, unless noted otherwise.


Printable Application for all awards except Library Leadership Ohio Scholarship 

Printable Library Leadership Ohio Scholarship Application

Online Submission Form



Award Descriptions


Emerging Leader Award recognizes OELMA members who have recently assumed an OELMA leadership role for the first time. This Award honors members who demonstrate leadership potential and encourages members’ active participation in OELMA. 


Information Technology Innovation Award recognizes school librarians who design, develop, and implement innovative uses of technology in instruction.  This award spotlights the  importance of emerging technologies in supporting student learning.


Intellectual Freedom Award recognizes Ohio school librarians and/or other Ohio educators who demonstrate support for the American Library Association’s principles of intellectual freedom. 


Leadership-in-Action Award recognizes Ohio's school librarians pursuing active leadership roles in local schools, in OELMA, and in national professional organizations (e.g. AASL, ALA).  This award honors OELMA members demonstrating an ongoing commitment to  leadership in the school library profession. 


Literacy Leader Award recognizes community members and/or community organizations for  exemplary support of literacy.  This award honors individuals  and/or groups supporting literacy, which reinforces student learning.



OELMA offers two annual scholarships: J. Allen Oakum Scholarship and OELMA Scholarship.  These scholarships are $ 500 stipends awarded to Ohio residents enrolled in accredited library school programs, who are pursuing licensure in school library/media. 


OELMA/Follett Library Resources Outstanding School Librarian Award recognizes an Ohio licensed school librarian, who develops an exemplary school library program, collaborates with classroom teachers, implements technology-integrated instruction, and advocates for school libraries.


Outstanding Administrator Award recognizes an Ohio school administrator, who has made significant contributions to the planning, implementation, and/or support of school library programs, resulting in improved program quality and  increased student learning. 


Outstanding Contributor Award honors an Ohio licensed school librarian who has made outstanding contributions to school librarianship.  The honoree has demonstrated a long-term commitment to the school library profession, while serving in OELMA leadership roles.





Congratulations to the 2013 OELMA Award Recipients


OELMA/Follett School Librarian of the Year Award
Lori Guerrini, Library Media Specialist
Chagrin Falls Exempted School District

Award of Merit
Cherie Pandora
Retired, Library Media Specialist

Administrator of the Year

John E. Miller, Superintendent

Loudonville-Perrysville Exempted Village School District


OELMA Scholarship
Karen Mossing
Southeastern Jr/Sr High School


J. Allan Oakum Scholarship

Laurie Katusin Swallen

Tuslaw High School, Tuslaw Local School District

Emerging Leader Award
Karen Gedeon, Roberts Middle School, Cuyahoga Falls City Schools
Winnie Milner, Warren County Career Center

OELMA Library of Distinction Award - School Level
Medina High School, Medina City Schools

Karon Lippincott, Library Media Specialist


OELMA Library of Distinction Award - District Level

Orange City School District
Joanna McNally, Orange High School
Betsey Lee, Ballard Brady Middle School

Pam Black, Moreland Hills Elementary School


INFOhio Spencer White Service Award
Bonnie Blachly, INFOhio Liaison

Northwest Ohio Area Computer Services Cooperative (NOACSC) /
Western Ohio Computer Organization (WOCO)


Mary Nemeth, Coordinator, INFOhio Services

Metropolitan Educational Council (MEC)



Member Login

Please be advised that the Password retrieval does not currently function properly. If you need the log in information please contact Melinda at melinda@assnoffices.com

Upcoming Events

Show Full Calendar